A dissertation committee shall include at least three faculty members. At least three committee members should hold a PhD and at least two shall be Northeastern University faculty. The chair of the dissertation committee shall be a full-time tenured or tenure-track member of the faculty of Northeastern University and will hold a PhD or an appropriate terminal degree for the discipline. Exceptions to this policy will be considered and, if appropriate, approved by the Provost or their designee.